RED-FACED: are you shy or ALDH2-deficient?

Since last year when I embarked on my Europe trip, I’ve began to drink on more occasions, and in greater amount, and everytime, I end up red in the face, even after just a few sips of alcohol. It kind of embarassed me sometimes, leading to friends saying I am alcohol intolerant. I just laughed them off, trying to prove myself by citing the myth where it was said that being red in the face after alcohol meant I had superb blood circulation in my body. Until I chanced upon Cerise’s blog entry, which made me think again about this issue.

One incident where I was red.

Maybe I really SHOULD drink less, but I HAD been drinking less, compared to when I was in Czech Republic!

3 thoughts on “RED-FACED: are you shy or ALDH2-deficient?

  1. ha don’t worry, i have the same problem as you but now i think that’s kind of protective coloration, people won’t force you to drink:P

  2. I have no idea what is the cause, but it’s not really that bad. It’s funny, but not embarrasing at all. Anyway, nice theories… both! 😀
    Hazel: check skype, I sent you a message before I checked this blog
    Zoe: be proud of me. I studied chinese and Taiwanese culture this semester(more that 3 lessons! Robert Hsiao shi wo de lao shi 🙂 and I am his best student!!! 🙂 )

  3. But I like the feeling of drinking, just that the after-effects with the red face doesn’t make me feel good. tomas you speak good mandarin now i suppose? heehee

Leave a comment